Canterbury Boys High School logo

Canterbury Boys High School

Canterbury Boys High School

We demonstrate excellence in Boys' Education

Telephone02 9798 8444


Canterbury Boys High School has many alumni who have distinguished themselves in various fields.


  • Emeritus Professor Harry Jocelyn: leading world expert on the classical languages
  • Distinguished Professor Dexter Dunphy: internationally recognised expert on the management of organisational change and human resource management
  • Ron Reilly: distinguished economics educator and former Chair, HSC Economics Examination Committee
  • Professor Alf Pollard: admitted to the Actuaries' Hall of Fame
  • Donald R Horne: distinguished academic, social critic and author, best known for “The Lucky Country”
  • Professor Sam Carey: geologist
  • John Lovering: geologist
  • John Coutman: Principal of CBHS, 1980-1984
  • Douglas Trathen: Headmaster of Newington College, 1963-1970
  • Dr Bruce Leckie: pioneering heart surgeon
  • Emeritus Professor Alan Fish: Human Resource Management professional and an academic for over 45 years. 
  • Emeritus Professor Philip Brown and Senior Honorary Research Fellow  in Accounting and Finance at UWA

Entertainment, Media and The Arts

  • Phillip Knightley: award-winning journalist and foreign correspondent
  • Murray Sayle: distinguished foreign correspondent
  • Fred Brown: author, most notably “Fred Brown's School Days”
  • Geoffrey Parsons: one of the world's greatest piano accompanists
  • Grahame Bond: better known as 'Áunty Jack' – Australian comedian and actor
  • Bill Collins: the iconic ‘Mr Movies', teacher at CBHS, lecturer at Sydney Teachers' College
  • Trevor Sinclair: travel journalist, host of television show "Connections"
  • Eddy Meyer: television reporter
  • Bryan Davies: singer and entertainer, hosted “The Bryan Davies Show” (ABC TV, 1962-63)
  • Lucky Starr: known as Les Morrison, singer and entertainer
  • Russ Walkington: breakfast announcer on 2UW


  • Dr Don Sheldon: distinguished surgeon
  • Emeritus Professor Kim Oates: distinguished paediatrician
  • Dr William McBride: surgeon and medical researcher
  • Dr Bertram (Man-Fai) Ng: leading international hair transplant surgeon

Politics, Public Service and Law

  • John Howard: Prime Minister of Australia, 1996-2007
  • Graham Alliband: former Ambassador to Vietnam
  • Ken Gabb: MLA for Earlwood, 1978-88
  • Doug Swan: NSW Director General of Education,1977-85
  • Sir John William Goodsell: former chairman of the Public Service Board
  • James (Jim) Cameron: MLA for Northcott, 1968-84
  • Keith Pearson: Director of the National Archives of Australia, 1970-71
  • Eric John Shields QC: barrister; former Senior Public Defender, NSW Frank Sleeman: Lord Mayor of Brisbane, 1976-82
  • Henry (Harry) Black: expedition leader, inventor and sportsman; recipient of the Coronation Medal, 1953


  • Rev Robert Porter OBE: Anglican Bishop of South Australia, 1970-89
  • Professor Raymond Nobbs: Dean and CEO of the Sydney College of Divinity


  • Arthur Morris: Australian Cricket Test captain, 1951-52; inducted into the Sport Australia Hall of Fame, 1992, and the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame, 2001
  • Anthony Mundine: boxer and former rugby league player
  • Dr George Peponis: Australian Rugby League Test captain, 1979-80; former chairman of the Canterbury Bulldogs
  • Ted Glossop: rugby league player, 1951-57; rugby league coach, 1977-88
  • Geoff Bugden: rugby league player for Newtown Jets and Parramatta Eels, 1979-86; 1980 Rothmans Medal winner
  • David Frith: cricket author and historian; editor of “Wisden Cricket Monthly”, 1979-1996
  • Pierre Hola: rugby union player; represented Tonga in the Rugby World Cup, 2003 and the IRB Pacific Nations Cup, 2007
  • John Kambas: rugby league player for Parramatta, South Sydney and Cronulla, 1983-88
  • Bruce Bourke: swimmer who represented Australia at the 1948 Olympic Games in freestyle and backstroke
  • Maxwell Leonard Fuller: 1963 Australian Junior Chess Champion and Australian chess FIDE Master